The free bass music downloads blog for DJs and music lovers.
Est. 2010, LSM is the emergency room for broken beats and ill basslines. Our Audiology unit specialize in electro-funk therapy, wonky bangers and wobbly-knees. Our ward only features the sickest free mixes, mash-ups and mishaps.


Published on September 3rd, 2016 | by Sid Wesley

20 Years a Kid The Mixtapes Vol. 1 (1996 – 1998) – Mixed by Kid Kenobi

After 20 years in the music game, Kid Kenobi has decided to embark on a new mixtape series which will see him go back, way back, back to where it all began for him as a Dj. 1996 is where it all began for him and to be fair, there aren’t many better years to start your career as a mainly Breakbeat inspired DJ. Sure, it wasn’t that easy to track down Breakbeat tunes back then but when you did, you had an absolute mind blower on your hands!

Kid Kenobi’s mix is fully stacked with many of those mind blowing tunes from 96 -98, with Hip Hop, Big Beat and Acid Breaks all featuring heavily. There’s tune after tune and memories galore from a mix that’s just keeps on giving with every track that comes along. It’s one that’s gonna be spun many times here at LSM HQ and we’re sure by anyone else who has the pleasure of checking it out. We’ll be keeping an eye out for Vol.2 when it comes along that’s for sure!

Links for Kid Kenobi :

Soundcloud / Facebook / Beatport / YouTube


01. The Number Song (Cut Chemist Party Mix) – DJ Shadow
02. Sure Shot – London Funk Allstars
03. Shake Your Rump – Beastie Boys
04. That Hip Hop Track – Bitch
05. Mella (The Herbaliser Drive Faster Mix) – DJ Food
06. Freestyle Noize – Freestylers
07. Trickshot – Ceasefire
08. Beat Bastik (Ceasefire Remix) – Hard Hop Heathen
09. Packet of Peace (Chemical Brothers Remix) – Lionrock
10. Take California – Propellerheads
11. Push – Bass Funk-tion
12. Left Hook – Simply Jeff
13. 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8 – DJ Icey
14. Pick Up – DJ Icee
15. Loose Caboose (Bassbin Twins Remix) – The Electroliners
16. Funk Da Fried Party – Simply Jeff
17. Higher State Of Consciousness (Tweekin Acid Funk) – Josh Wink
18. Big Ditch – DJ Icey
19. Who’s The Bad Man – Dee Pattern
20. unknown – Soulstice (white label)
21. unknown – Bassbin Twins Vol. 1 (white label)
22. Westway – Thursday Club
23. Papua New Guinea (Original 12″ Mix) – The Future Sound of London

About the Author

: I'm Sid, a dude from Lincolnshire. I'll be bringing you music from the perspective of the dance floor, the place I love to be most! I've no production or DJ experience, but I do know a bloody good tune when I hear one and if I connect with it, I'll share it in the hope you connect with it to. Selection and connection is the name of the game.

Back to Top ↑
  • Bombstrikes-15-Years