Jon Carter – Essential Mix 4 (1996)

The man, the legend, an inspiration to many … here is an Essential Mix by Jon Carter dating back to 1996. Alongside Norman Cook, the Chemical Brothers and Andy Weatherall, Jon was one of the original residents at the then mind-blowing and now legendary Heavenly Social. It was the Social that formed the platform for his band ‘Monkey Mafia (dub and dancehall-influenced music) to develop as a live act and for Jon to release a string of powerhouse singles, anchoring a sound that was starting to blow people away as his DJ career went through the roof. How amazing it would of been to party then! Sadly we can’t turn back time, but here is a taster of what it may have sounded like ….


1 Dillinja – Sensemilla
2 Trippatrazz – The Phantom
3 Ninjaman – Zig It Up (Main Attraction remix) (feat. Flourgon)
4 DJ Kool – Let Me Clear My Throat
5 Q-Burns Abstract Message – Enter,Other
6 General Levy – Mad Them (a cappella)
7 The Sons Of Silence – Silence Go Boom!
8 Saint Etienne – Filthy (feat. Q-Tee) (Monkey Mafia mix)
9 Ceasefire – Trickshot
10 Monkey Mafia – Blow The Whole Joint Up (Coughing Up Fire Mix)
11 KIZ – Just Feel It (Live ’92)
12 Frontier Man – Inspire Me
13 Smith & Mighty – Killa
14 Semi Detached Productions – What Da F**k
15 Dub Pistols – There’s Gonna Be a Riot (original mix)
16 Play Boy – In da Jungle
17 Rebel MC – Wickedest Sound (Don Gorgon mix)
18 Interspin – Breaking Into a Sweat free download
19 Genaside II – Narramine
20 Special K – Killin’ (feat. Ghostrider)
21 The Ganja Kru – Super Sharp Shooter (DJ Zinc)
22 Blame – Neptune
23 Johnny Osbourne – Buddy Bye Bye




You might also like

No Comments

Leave a Reply